BIA 2023 Brick Awards Call for Entries

The Brick Industry Association (BIA) has opened entries for the international 2023 Brick in Architecture Awards, featuring a new category for thin brick projects as of last year. Entries are due by Nov. 3.

Projects will compete for a Best in Class, Gold, Silver, or Bronze award in nine different categories, with only one project earning the Craftsmanship Award each year.

“The awards competition continues to showcase groundbreaking ways to design with clay brick,” said BIA President and CEO Ray Leonhard. “These inspiring projects promote sustainable design and highlight the versatility and infinite possibilities clay brick has to offer.”

As the nation’s leading architectural design competition featuring fired-clay brick, all submissions must use clay brick as the project’s primary building material. Entrants must be either an architect or designer employed by an architectural, design-build or landscaping design firm.

Per the competition rules, eligible projects include any work of architecture completed since January 1, 2018, in which new clay brick products comprise the predominant exterior building or paving material (over 50 percent) including face or hollow brick, building brick, thin brick, paving brick, glazed brick, structural glazed facing tile, new clay brick products in special shapes and/or a combination of these.

The winners will be judged by peers in December and announced next January. Winning projects are featured on BIA’s website and social media channels. BIA also highlights winning projects and promotes them to the architect and design community throughout the year, offering extensive exposure.

Entries must be submitted online by November 3 in one or more of these categories:

1. Commercial

2. Education – K-12

3. Education – Colleges & Universities (Higher Education) *

4. Residential – Single Family

5. Residential – Multi-Family

6. Thin Brick (New in 2022)

7. Paving & Landscape Projects**

8. Historic Renovation***

9. International (Projects outside of the US, Canada or a U.S. territory must be entered in this category)

* Includes residence halls and academic/administrative buildings

**At least 50% of the project must include clay pavers

***Does not need to meet the 50% or more new brick requirement but project must have 50% or more renovated brick

Additionally, an overall Craftsmanship Award will honor a mason or team of masons with exceptionally artful or unique installation.

Last year’s winning projects were featured in in BIA’s 2022 Brick in Architecture Magazine with a full recap in this video.

For questions, contact Kaylee Jeffries:

Founded in 1934, BIA is the nationally recognized authority on clay brick construction representing the nation’s distributors and manufacturers of clay brick and suppliers of related products. 703-620-0010.

CCR NYC September 28th, 2023 Noon to 4 PM at Penthouse 45.
The 14th Annual 2024 Hybrid Summit will be held January 2024, Date & Location TBD.

Read more BELOW

January 26th, 2023
The 13th Annual Hybrid Summit was held on January 26th, 2023 Noon to 4 PM EST.

Virtual Women in Construction: Building Connections was held on December 14th, 2022, 1 PM to 2 PM EST via a Zoom. 2023 Virtual Women in Construction TBD.

2023 Virtual Men’s Round Tables

2023 Men’s Round Table #1 will be held Q3, 2023

2023 Virtual Women’s Round Tables

2023 Women’s Round Table #1 will be held Q3, 2023


Melia’s portfolio in Mexico to increase from 7 to 14

Melia Hotels International plans to double its portfolio in Mexico to 14 hotels over the next two years. Among the new additions are the Zel Sayulita, a 145-room beachfront property opening in 2025; the 125-room ME Sayulita, which will open this year with three restaurants,

See Website for Details

This content (including text, artwork, graphics, photography, and video) was provided by the third party(ies) as referenced above. Any rights or other content questions or inquiries should be directed such third-party provider(s).